The RIBA Inter Regional Golf Tournament was first held at Pannal Golf Club in Yorkshire in 1975. At the outset, it involved only the five North and Midland Regions. By 1980, all ten RIBA regions together with Scotland, Ulster and Wales came together to form a permanent fixture on the golfing calendar. In 1999, Eire joined the tournament to complete a field of golfers from 14 regions of architects.

The tournament has a history of visiting renowned courses throughout the UK and Ireland. Seven of the courses played have hosted great golfing events such as the Ryder Cup and Walker Cups, and six have been host to the open Championship. Each Region takes its turn as host and seek sponsorship to fund or subsidise the event.
Each Region fields a team of seven players of which the best four cards are used to compile the team score. The Tournament is played each year in September on a single day, normally on a Monday with one practice day on the Sunday. The following categories of trophies are played for on competition day:

The Netts Trophy Rose Bowl
The Quaiche Individual Trophy Wooden Spoon
Best Region Overall
Best Region (North and Midlands) Eire v Scotland
Best Individual Golfer Overall

Over the years, the event has become a symbol of sporting camaraderie and lasting friendships.

RIBA v AIA - The Architects' Ryder Cup

As well as this prestigious architects' golfing event, there is also the RIBA-AIA International Golf Society. Founded in 1977, the RIBA-AIA International Golfing Society is an association of architects from Great Britain and Ireland representing the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), and architects from the United States representing the American Institute of Architects (AIA), who meet bi-annually in a Ryder Cup format golfing competition.  Click on the following link to learn more:


For Past Venues of the RIBA Inter Region click here